ASO Intermediate

Was ist App Conversion Rate Optimierung?

App Store Optimierung beinhaltet mehr als nur Keywords. Sie beinhaltet auch Conversion Rate Optimierung. Was ist Conversion Rate Optimierung (CRO)? Das wirst du gleich herausfinden.

App Conversion Rate Definition

Beginnen wir mit den Grundlagen: der Definition der Conversion Rate. Die Conversion Rate ist der Prozentsatz der Nutzer, die in ihrer User Journey von Punkt A zu Punkt B gelangen. Für Apps sind die wichtigen Conversion Rates:

  • Impression zu Store View
  • Store View zur Installation
  • Impression zur Installation
  • Installation zu Verkauf
App Metrics Und Conversion Rates
App Metrics und Conversion Rates in App Radar.

Eine Impression entsteht, wenn eine Person deine App in den App Store oder Google Play Suchergebnissen sieht.

Ein Store View entsteht, wenn die Person auf deine App Store Listung klickt und diese ansieht.

Eine Installation ist, wenn eine Person deine App herunterlädt.

Ein Sale schließlich ist, wenn der Nutzer einen Kauf innerhalb deiner App tätigt, sei es ein In-App-Kauf oder ein Abonnement.

Wie beeinflusst die App Conversion Rate das App Store Ranking?

In den vergangenen Kapiteln haben wir uns auf das Ranking für Keywords konzentriert, um die Sichtbarkeit im App Store zu erhöhen. Die Keywords sind jedoch nicht der einzige Faktor, den Apple und Google beim Ranking deiner App berücksichtigen. Auch die Conversion Rates sind wichtig, denn sie zeigen Apple und Google, dass deine App den Nutzern gefällt, was bedeutet, dass deine App qualitativ hochwertig ist. App Store und Google Play müssen auch ihre Kunden ansprechen, indem sie großartige Apps präsentieren.

App Store und Google Play werden Apps mit niedrigen oder sinkenden Conversion Rates als unzureichend für ein hohes App Store Ranking ansehen. Sie wollen ihren Kunden keine schlechten Produkte anbieten.

App Download Geschwindigkeit beeinflusst das App Store Ranking

Einer der entscheidenden Faktoren für den App Store Rank ist die Download Velocity. Die Download Velocity ist die Anzahl der Installationen, die deine App innerhalb eines bestimmten Zeitraums erhält. Je höher die Geschwindigkeit ist, desto höher wird deine App im App Store und bei Google Play ranken. Das ist der Grund, warum beliebte Apps, die tonnenweise Downloads pro Tag bringen, immer in den Top-Charts zu finden sind.

Wie man die App Conversion Rate erhöht

Jetzt hast du verstanden, was die App Conversion Rate ist und warum sie wichtig ist. Sicherlich fragst du dich, wie du die Conversion Rate deiner App erhöhen kannst?

Nun, hier kommt die App Conversion Rate Optimierung ins Spiel.

App Conversion Rate Optimierung (CRO)

Die App Conversion Rate Optimierung beinhaltet jedes Element deines App Store Listings. Lass uns diese durchgehen:

App Icon

Dein App Icon ist das erste, was die Leute sehen, wenn sie deine App finden. Folglich ist es extrem wichtig für den ersten Eindruck und viele Leute laden Apps aufgrund ihres ersten Eindrucks herunter. Entwirf es so, dass es widerspiegelt, worum es in deiner App geht, aber übertreibe es nicht mit übermäßigem Text und Grafiken. Halte es einfach und leicht zu erkennen. Achte auch darauf, dass es zum Farbschema deiner Marke passt, da es die Hauptdarstellung deiner App-Marke sein wird.

App Icon Beispiel
App Icons werden in kleinen Auflösungen auf dem Gerät des Nutzers erscheinen. Vermeide zu viele Grafiken oder Text, damit sie leicht zu erkennen sind.

Um dein App Icon zu optimieren, musst du einige Tests durchführen. Um dein App Icon zu testen, solltest du, wenn möglich, A/B-Tests durchführen. Auch Fokusgruppen sind dafür gut geeignet. Als letztes Ergebnis kannst du einfach Freunde, Kollegen und Familie nach ihrem Input fragen. Alles, was du tun musst, ist mindestens 2 Variationen deines App Icons zu erstellen und sie an diesen Zielgruppen zu testen. Diejenige, zu der sich die Leute hingezogen fühlen, ist der Gewinner.

App Name

Der Name deiner App ist das nächste Feld, auf das die Leute schauen werden, da es direkt neben dem Icon steht. Abgesehen von deinem Markennamen wirst du in diesem Feld andere Keywords haben. Mit jedem Update solltest du versuchen, die Keywords, die du hier platzierst, zu optimieren. Tausche die Keywords mit geringem Suchvolumen gegen solche mit hohem Suchvolumen aus. Auf diese Weise ziehst du noch mehr Traffic an. Wenn der Suchbegriff, den die Leute benutzt haben, um deine App zu entdecken, in deinem App-Namen steht, wird die Aufmerksamkeit der Leute automatisch auf deinen Eintrag gelenkt. Das liegt daran, dass es perfekt zu dem passt, wonach sie gesucht haben.

Live Suche Fotoarbeitung
Wenn du im App Store nach "photo editor" suchst, haben die am besten platzierten Apps dieses Stichwort in ihrem App Namen.

Du kannst neue Keywords finden und deinen App Namen im App Radar Store Listing Editor aktualisieren. Alle Änderungen können direkt von deinem App Radar Account aus im App Store und bei Google Play veröffentlicht werden.

App Screenshots

App Screenshots sind essentiell, um deine Konversionsrate und Downloadgeschwindigkeit zu steigern. Menschen schauen sich die App Screenshots an, um zu entscheiden, ob sie eine App mögen oder nicht. Sie werden nicht nur deine Funktionen, sondern auch die UX/UI beurteilen. Strebe ein sauberes und klares Design an, nicht nur in deiner App, sondern auch in deinen Screenshots. Vergiss nicht, kurze Texte in den Screenshots zu platzieren, um die Funktionen zu beschreiben, die du hervorhebst. Stelle sicher, dass du den Wert und die Vorteile erklärst, die die Nutzer erhalten, wenn sie deine App herunterladen.

Picsart App Screenshots De
Picsart entwirft einfache und ansprechende App-Screenshots. Quelle: Picsart on App Radar.

Wie auch beim App Icon sind A/B-Tests und das Einholen von Input von Freunden oder einer Fokusgruppe zu deinen Screenshots ein guter Weg, um das Konversionspotenzial wirklich zu optimieren.

Vorschau oder Promo Video

Nicht jede App braucht ein Vorschau- oder Promo-Video. Du kannst testen, ob du mit oder ohne Video mehr App Downloads bekommst. Die Ergebnisse können dich überraschen. Die meisten mobilen Spiele und kostenpflichtigen Apps werden jedoch von einem Vorschau- oder Promo-Video profitieren. Es gibt den Leuten eine Chance, wirklich zu sehen, worum es in deiner App geht, bevor sie die Bezahlschranke überschreiten. Sie werden eher bereit sein, Geld für deine App auszugeben, wenn sie bereits wissen, was sie erwartet.

Folglich muss deine App-Vorschau oder dein Promo-Video die attraktivsten und ansprechendsten Funktionen enthalten. Betone immer die Teile deiner App, die deine Zielgruppe am spannendsten finden wird.

App Beschreibung

Ehrlich gesagt werden nicht sehr viele Leute die Beschreibung deiner App lesen. Aber das ist kein Grund, sie zu ignorieren oder sie völlig unoptimiert zu lassen. Vor allem bei Android Apps muss die Beschreibung mit Keywords gefüllt werden.

Eine Beschreibung zu schreiben, die gut konvertiert, kann einiges an Übung erfordern. Sie muss in der Stimme deiner Marke geschrieben sein und eine Umgangssprache verwenden, die deine Zielgruppe verstehen würde. Auf diese Weise kannst du eine echte Verbindung zu deinen Nutzern herstellen.

Wenn du eine besondere Aktion oder Kampagne hast, kannst du diese natürlich oben in deiner App Beschreibung ankündigen. Die wichtigsten Informationen sollten ganz oben stehen, weil die Leute sie dann eher lesen werden. Erläutere die Funktionen, die du in den App Screenshots gezeigt hast.

Erforderliche Informationen, wie z.B. In-App-Käufe und Informationen zu Abonnements sollten weiter unten platziert werden.

Bewertungen und Rezensionen

Zu guter Letzt haben deine App-Bewertungen und Rezensionen einen großen Einfluss auf die Conversion Rate der App. Menschen vertrauen der Meinung anderer Menschen. Das ist bei Apps nicht anders. Untersuchungen zeigen sogar, dass mobile Nutzer nicht einmal in Betracht ziehen, eine App mit weniger als 3 Sternen herunterzuladen.

Es ist wichtig, dass du deine App-Bewertungen hoch hältst, also mindestens über 4 Sterne. Das kannst du erreichen, indem du auf Nutzerbewertungen antwortest. Die Nutzer mögen es zu wissen, dass du dich um ihr Feedback kümmerst. Sie geben dir auch Ideen für neue Funktionen und identifizieren Fehler, die du vielleicht in ihrer Bewertung übersehen hast. Der schnellste Weg, um auf Nutzerbewertungen zu antworten, ist die Verwendung von Vorlagen. Du kannst deine eigenen Vorlagen in App Radar erstellen, die zur Stimme und zum Ton deiner Marke passen, was deine App-Marke stärkt.

Vsco App Bewertungen
Verfolge deine täglichen App-Bewertungen im App Radar.

Eine weitere Möglichkeit, deine App-Bewertung zu verbessern ist, deine Nutzer zu bitten, eine Bewertung und Rezension zu hinterlassen, während sie deine App nutzen. Das Timing ist entscheidend. Du willst sie auffordern, nachdem sie etwas in deiner App erreicht haben. Sie werden sich gut fühlen und eher bereit sein, eine positive Bewertung zu hinterlassen.

Conversion Rate Optimierung hilft, den Return on Ad Spend zu erhöhen

Conversion Rate Optimierung hilft nicht nur deinem App Store Ranking. Sie stellt auch sicher, dass du das meiste aus deinen App-Werbeausgaben herausholst. Jede Anzeige, die du schaltest, sei es eine Plakatwand, eine Social-Media-Kampagne, eine Apple-Suchanzeige oder eine Google-App-Kampagne, führt den Nutzer zu deinem App Store Listing. Wenn dein App Store Listing nicht für eine hohe Conversion optimiert ist, verlierst du den Nutzer, nachdem er auf deine Anzeige geklickt hat. Und das bedeutet, auch Geld zu verlieren. 

Wie du siehst, ist die Conversion Rate Optimierung sowohl für organische als auch für bezahlte Kampagnen zur Nutzerakquise essentiell und somit auch für dein gesamtes App-Wachstum.

ASO Intermediate

What is App Conversion Rate Optimization (CRO)?

App Store Optimization involves more than keywords. It also includes conversion rate optimization. What is app conversion rate optimization (CRO)? You’re about to find out. 

App Conversion Rate Definition

Let’s start with the basics: defining conversion rate. Conversion rate is the percentage of users who move from point A to point B in their user journey. For apps the important conversion rates are: 

  • Impression to store view 
  • Store view to install 
  • Impression to install
  • Install to sale 
App metrics and app conversion rates
App metrics and conversion rates 
Source: App Radar App Store Optimization tool

An impression occurs when a person sees your app in App Store or Google Play search results. 

A store view happens when the person clicks into and views your dedicated app store listing. 

An install is when a person downloads your app. 

Lastly, a sale is when the user makes a purchase within your app, whether that’s an in-app purchase or subscription. 

How Does App Conversion Rate Affect App Store Ranking

In the past chapters, we focused on ranking for keywords to increase app store visibility. However, keywords are not the only factor that Apple and Google take into account when ranking your app. Conversion rates matter too because they tell Apple and Google that people are enjoying your app, which means your app is high-quality. App Store and Google Play also need to appeal to their customers by showcasing great apps. 

App Store and Google Play will look at apps with low or decreasing conversion rates as insufficient for high app store rank. They do not want to offer their customers bad products. 

App Download Velocity Affects App Store Rank

One of the determining factors for app store rank is download velocity. Download velocity is the amount of installs your app gets within a certain time. The higher the velocity, the higher your app will rank in App Store and Google Play. That’s why popular apps that bring in tons of downloads a day are always featured and in the top charts. 

How to Increase App Conversion Rate

Now you understand what app conversion rate is and why it’s important. I’m sure you’re wondering how you can increase your app conversion rate? 

Well, this is where app Conversion Rate Optimization comes in. 

App Conversion Rate Optimization(CRO)

App Conversion Rate Optimization involves every element of your app store listing. Let’s go over them 

App Icon

Your app icon is the first thing people see when they find your app. As a result, it’s extremely important in forming the first impression and many people will download apps based on their first impression. First, design it to reflect what your app is about but don’t go overboard with excessive text and graphics. Keep it simple and easy to recognize. Also make sure it matches your brand’s color scheme as it will be the main representation of your app brand. 

App icons will appear in small resolutions on a user’s device. Avoid too many graphics or text to keep them easily recognizable. App icons play a major role in app conversion rate optimization
App icons will appear in small resolutions on a user’s device. Avoid too many graphics or text to keep them easily recognizable
Source: App Radar App Store Optimization tool

Optimizing your app icon will take some testing. To test your app icon you’ll want to run A/B test if possible. Focus groups are also great for this. As a last result, you can simply ask friends, colleagues, and family for their input. All you have to do is make at least 2 variations of your app icon and test them on these audiences. The one that people gravitate to is the winner. 

App Name

Your App’s Name is the next field people will look at since it sits next to the icon. Aside from your brand name, you’ll have other keywords in this field. With every update try to optimize the keywords you place here. Cycle out low search volume ones for high search volume keywords. This way you attract even more traffic. Also if the search term people used to discover your app is in your App Name, people’s attention will be automatically drawn to your listing. That’s because it’s perfectly aligned to what they were looking for.

You can check your app store ranking with the Live Search feature. To go further use, App conversion rate optimization strategies to help you get more clicks on your app store listing
When you search “photo editor” in App Store, the top ranked apps have that keyword in their App Name.
Source: App Radar App Store Optimization tool

You can find new keywords and update your App Name in App Radar’s Store Listing Editor. Any changes can be published directly to App Store and Google Play from your App Radar account. 

Publish Updates to App Store and Google Play


Make changes to your app store listing and localizations. Publish the changes from App Radar directly to App Store Connect and Google Play Console.

Create a Free Account

App Screenshots

App screenshots are essential to driving up your conversion rates and download velocity. People look at the app screenshots to decide if they like an app or not. They’ll be judging not only your features but also the UX/UI. Aim for a clean and clear design not only in your app but also in your screenshots. Don’t forget to place short texts in the screenshots to describe what features you’re highlighting. Ensure you’re explaining the value and benefits people will receive when they download your app

Picsart designs simple and engaging app screenshots. They definitely considered app conversion rate optimization when choosing which screenshots to publish
Picsart designs simple and engaging app screenshots  
Source: Picsart on App Radar App Store Optimization tool

As with the app icon, A/B testing and getting input from friends or focus group about your screenshots is a great way to truly optimize its conversion potential. 

Preview or Promo Video

Not every app needs a preview or promo video. You can test whether you get more app downloads with or without a video. The results may surprise you.  

However, most mobile games and paid apps will benefit from having a preview or promo video. It gives people a chance to really see what your app is about before crossing that pay barrier. They’ll be more likely to spend money on your app if they already know what to expect. 

Consequently, your app preview or promo video has to include the most appealing and engaging features. Always emphasize parts of your app that your target audience will find most exciting. 

App Description

Honestly, not very many people will read through your app’s description. But that’s not a reason to ignore it or leave it totally unoptimized. In particular, for Android apps, the description needs to be filled with keywords.

Writing a description that converts well can take some practice. It has to be written in your brand’s voice using colloquial language that your target audience would understand. That way you can really connect with your users. 

Furthermore, if you’re having any kind of special promotion or campaign you can certainly advertise this at the top of your app description. Keep the most compelling information closest to the top because people will be more likely to read it. Elaborate on the features that you showed in the app screenshots. 

Any required information, such as in-app purchases and subscription disclosures, should be placed closer to the bottom. 

Ratings and Reviews

Last but certainly not least, your app ratings and reviews highly influence app conversion rate. People trust other people’s opinions. It’s no different with apps. Research even shows that mobile users will not even consider downloading an app with lower than a 3-star rating. 

It’s crucial to keep your app ratings high, meaning at least above 4 stars. You can do this by replying to user reviews. Users like to know that you care about their feedback. They’ll also give you feature ideas and identify bugs that you might have missed in their review. The fastest way to reply to user reviews is by using templates. You can create your own templates in App Radar that match your brand’s voice and tone, which helps to strengthen your app brand. 

Track your daily app ratings in App Radar. Your app ratings and review play a big role in app conversion rate optimization. The better your rating is, the more downloads your app will get
Track your daily app ratings in App Radar 
Source: App Radar App Store Optimization too

Another way to improve your app rating is to ask your users to leave a rating and review while they’re using your app. Timing is key. You want to prompt them after they’ve accomplished something in your app. They’ll be feeling good and more willing to leave a positive review. 

App Conversion Rate Optimization Helps Increase Return on Ad Spend

Conversion Rate Optimization doesn’t only help your app store rank. It also ensures that you’re getting the most out of your app advertising spending. Every ad that you place, whether it’s a billboard, social media campaign, Apple Search Ads, or Google App Campaign, lands the user in your app store listing. If your app store listing is not optimized for high conversion, you’ll lose the user after they’ve clicked on your ad. And that also means losing money.  

As you can see, Conversion Rate Optimization is essential to both organic and paid user acquisition campaigns and thus, to your overall app growth.  

Easily Compare App Conversion Rates


App Radar allows you to compare app conversion rates across traffic sources and countries. Pinpoint channels that are doing well and those that need improvement.

Create a Free Account
Genie is the Marketing Manager at App Radar. She drives exciting in-house campaigns and collaborations to get the word out about app marketing and growth strategies.